[an error occurred while processing this directive]
News Feature
March 26, 2008
Department of Geological Sciences

SDSU Team Wins Pacific Section AAPG's Imperial Barrel Award Program

IBA Winners
Andy Aulia, Sarah Johnson, Aaron Hebeler, Cameron Campbell, Afton VanZandt, and Dr. Robert Mellors
The SDSU team wins the Pacific Section AAPG's Imperial Barrel Award Program (IBA) which includes all West Coast schools and a prize of $1500. Finals are April 17 in San Antonio against national and international competition. Team members are: Andy Aulia, Cameron Campbell, Sarah Johnston, Afton van Zandt, and Aaron Hebeler.

AAPG's Imperial Barrel Award Program (IBA) is an annual prospect/exploration evaluation competition/presentation competition between university student teams competing to win scholarship funds dedicated to petroleum geoscience education created for geoscience graduate students. The program is rigorous and contributes to AAPG's mission of promoting petroleum geoscience training and advancing the careers of geoscience students.

This is a global competition, where the University teams analyze a complete dataset in six to eight weeks prior to the competition and (geology, geophysics, land, economics, production infrastructure, and other relevant materials). Each team delivers their results in a 30-minute presentation to a panel of industry experts.

iba logo
Students gain experience using real technology on a real dataset. Additionally, students benefit from the feedback from the industry panel, the opportunity to impress potential employers in the audience, and the chance to win cash prizes for their schools, who will select the winning team on the basis of technical quality, clarity and originality.

The IBA is a hands-on opportunity for students to experience the creative process and the high-tech science that is the foundation of the Energy Industry today.

DOCUMENT ASSISTANCE:   .PDF Download Adobe Reader   •  .DOC Download Word viewer   •  .XLS: Download Excel viewer   •  .PPT: Download Powerpoint viewer